Casual reminder that we’re now operating a small petting zoo.

Here’s a round-up of all the photos since the beginning of the year that didn’t fit in a particular post (aka a whole lotta pet pictures).


Life, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, finds a way.

Going right back to the start of the year, and celebrating the extinction of 2016 with this amazing T. rex necklace by The White Fire.

Minerva is always on hand to help out with the home repairs. (Also pictured: one bemused painter.)

Not to be outdone by his sister, Wilfred also aimed to be of assistance.

Educating Amy nights: where we introduce her to all the great 80s and ’90s movies she missed out on. (This particular night was two of my all-time favourites: Death Becomes Her and Romy & Michele.) Amy came for the movies, but stayed for the Persian.

I’m not sure if you can tell from the indistinct pile of fluff, but he’s hugging his tail in his sleep.

Alf has been a lot more tolerant of Wilf lately, but that might just be because he’s redirected all of his anger towards his upstart sister…

Cats: nature’s least helpful study buddies.

Dinner at Bill’s. Not to be confused with…

…Bill waiting for his dinner.

Cat-stellation.

Little and (extra) large

Look at those daintily folded paws. 🐾

What time is it?!

Ring by Macabre Gadgets.

If it fits, I sits. And if it doesn’t…I’ll wedge myself in anyway.

The Triforce.

Purrin’ 9 to 5.

I wasn’t convinced Giles had done much growing in the last month…until I saw this photo from his first week.

Happy Thirty-*mmffmfmf*! This was following my birthday dinner at Ramen Dayo; where we’ve gone back to at least three times since.

Wilf knows darn well how to use an armrest.

Food segue: halloumi florettes!

This cat tree has seen better days. Might be time to get a new one for Mina to destroy…

John’s new, “indestructible” phone case he backed through a Kickstarter campaign. I say indestructible in inverted commas because he shot down my request to throw it across the room the minute he put it on.

Some sultry, over-the-shoulder action.

One of those fancy desk-warmers you’ve been reading about.

Still in those early stages when Giles would refuse to walk the minute he stepped out the gate and had to be ferried around like Paris Hilton’s chihuahua.

…but who could say no to that face?

Giles would, ideally, like to be the centre of attention all day every day.

We’ve eventually reached a compromise where I let him sleep on the desk and he thinks I’m paying rapt attention to him while I’m working.

Started working out and my hair went full Final Fantasy. 🗡️?

His expressive, judgemental eyebrows.

You might think from this photo that Giles and Alf are best pals. In reality, Giles sneaked into that position while Alf was asleep and got a paw to the face when he woke up.

It’s typical that Alf has loved every dog that’s ever entered this house, except the one who was actually destined to live here.

His tongue! 💖

Giles having left for his first day of doggy-daycare, I used the time to a) work, and b) wish the fluff of my life the happiest of birthdays.

On the other days, he continues to occupy my desk.

Giles – who’s your favourite parent?

Just as I thought.

This is his go-to position with either of us if he’s feeling uncomfortable (aka whenever he was made to go for a walk during the first month). Also the first thing he does when he greets whichever of us he hasn’t seen for a few hours!

I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the volume of my hair.

I don’t know if his giant paws are an indication of how big he’s going to get or if they’re just completely disproportionate to his tiny, pupper body.

It took me a second to realise all 4 pets were in this photo. #WheresWilfred

Petting Zoo: opening 2017.

Just some international gal pals Skyping across 4 countries and 3 continents. 🇺🇸🇨🇦🇮🇳🇬🇧

After the global success of the human version, I’ve come up with a new series of children’s books entitled “Where’s Wilfred?” 🔍😸

How low can you go?

The boys were maintaining a polite distance, but Min was slowly warming to her new canine sibling.

Not quite how that toy is supposed to work, but whatever makes Wilf happy.

Best Easter egg, courtesy of my mum. 🍄 (See it in action here!)

The final stage of the home improvements necessitated moving a desk into the bathtub. Minerva was delighted with her new climbing frame.

Not to be outdone, Alf also took the misplaced furniture as an opportunity for some mountaineering.

Pitfalls of working from home: Giles keeps guilt-tripping me by dropping more and more items in front of the desk to get me to play with him (one of which is my own t-shirt).

This is getting ridiculous.

Cinnamon loaf and tiger roll.

Further installment of Educating Amy. At this stage, we’ve also seen To Wong Foo, Mommie Dearest, Mean Girls and Sister Act.

Tiger, Tiger.

The day I saw Minerva head-bumping Giles, my small heart grew three sizes. 💗

She’s been his favourite sibling ever since, and the first cat he runs to see when he comes back from walks!

John actually made that yarn doll for the cats; who, naturally, ignored it completely. It’s gotten a new lease of life since Giles arrived!

Cat naps.

Literal fur balls.

“Life is the flower for which love is the honey.”

My latest tattoo! 🐝 (Which you can read all about here.)

Wildcat on the loose! aka Mina scaring the neighbours.

Giles: putting the ear in cavalier.

Wilfred doing his best impression of a croissant. 🥐

Completing the spring floral trifecta after the daffodils and cherry blossoms: Giles in the bluebells. 💙

Leave a Reply

