As I mentioned before, our impromptu trip to New York was, in fact, a layover prior to our actual destination: beautiful Puerto Rico in the Caribbean. 🏝 (Not to be confused with Puerto Rico in Spain; though that did explain the very conflicting weather reports I was getting on my phone vs what I seeing with my own eyes.)


We arrived at 2 in the morning, to a marginally different climate than the minus 3 we’d left in New York.

It wasn’t long before I was reunited with this beautiful lady, whose wedding I was shooting the very next day! Jez and I taught in Japan together, though we’d actually had a comparatively more recent reunion the last time I was in New York, when – by freak coincidence – we both happened to be there for our birthdays (which are a day apart).

That was also the day I met her husband-to-be, Matt.

Despite having known one another for 8 years now, this was only Jez’s second time meeting John! The pitfalls of transcontinental friendships (as is increasingly the case with almost everyone I know).

My workplace for the weekend. It’s a hard job, but someone’s gotta do it.

When you’re the closest you’ve ever been to where Jurassic Park was set and realise you’re accidentally cosplaying Ellie Sattler…

We joined Matt and his best man on a booze run ahead of the big day.

What do you call cheese that doesn’t belong to you?

After the wedding rehearsal, there was a welcome party in the evening where I had a chance to meet a lot of the other guests.

…including Jez’s wonderful mum, Elba!

I don’t know if it’s something that happens the closer you get to the equator, but the sun and the moon were occupying the same sky pretty much the entire time I was there.

Chief bridesmaid, Sarah.

Jez’s friend (and boss), Jenn, who would be officiating the next day.

Jez’s brother, Gabriel.

Matt’s uncle, Ron, who – as it happens – had travelled Scotland in his youth playing football!

Mark and Emi.

John watching the sunset.

We took some pictures down on the beach to get Jez comfortable in front of the camera.

…not that she needed the help. 💅

Vanessa.

Comments
  1. It is so amazing that you can travel while doing work! Wow! My line of work doesn’t permit me to travel much… more ober go out of town for too long. 😢😢 Anyway, Godbless and be safe always!

Leave a Reply

