Wherein my friends take me to see some of Ibusuki’s local attractions and I still wind up taking photos of animals.

At Tosenkyo: a huge wooden hall Ibusuki famous for its nagashi-sōmen…

…aka flowing noodles!

This portrait is already pretty impressive, though the wow factor is upped considerably…

…when you realise that the entire thing is constructed from coloured pegs.

釜蓋神社 (Kamafuta-jinja), aka the pot lid shrine. The aim is to carry a pot-lid on your head from the entrance up to the shrine itself, which I finally managed on my third attempt. (Look at that concentration.)

The Crambs attempted the double pot-lid, and came within literal metres of their goal before an unfortunate run-in with a set of stairs. They were all set to try again until they realised that every Japanese person present had stopped what they were doing to watch their progress and that a second attempt might seem like showboating.

The true star of the show, however, was Sora: an old lady dachshund kitted out in her Golden Week finery.

And, on the subject of adorable canines, I finally got to meet Niko: the Shiba-inu who – despite not actually belonging to him (or indeed, anyone he knows) – is the current screensaver on Colin’s phone.

She was everything he’d told me and more.

Kai and Yui: symbols of the Seahorse Bell.

The number of times you ring the bell corresponds to the type of luck you’re hoping to receive. I probably should have read the sign beforehand since I ended up wishing for an easy childbirth.

Tell me those don’t look like fossilised ohmu from Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind.

Aaaaaand back to Niko. (I mean we had to go back for the car either way, so technically she was en route.)

Look at her stupid, squishy, fox-y face!

Adventures in Japanese supermarkets, featuring Kim’s all-time favourite snack: tiny fish, dried and eaten whole. I remember them fondly from my own experiences with school lunches.

Wash that down with some delicious collon.

I don’t know about you, but this definitely makes me want to buy laundry detergent.

Night-time eikaiwa (English conversation) class at City Hall.

Comments
  1. Markus McD says:

    Awww Niko is so cute!!!
    I’m loving these pics! 😊

Leave a Reply

