April-July photo megapost…aka I had to stretch it out over 4 months so it wasn’t just photos of the cats.

Goosery afoot.

Wilf distancing himself from his siblings’ troublemaking.

Our former flatmate Gail, through from Perth.

As with so many places, I always vow to try something different on the menu each time I go to Cafe Hula and invariably order the French toast with bacon and maple syrup.

Sewing lessons with Mumma Khaos.

We were there for an hour and a half and completed one entire hem. Project Runway, here we come.

Minerva, with her fully-grown kangaroo legs.

A visit from the soon-to-be-Japan-bound Mr and Mrs Cramb.

I think the saddest part of their imminent departure was that we’d finally gotten back into a rhythm of seeing one another on a regular basis.

Aren’t you a little short for a stormtrooper?

On a related note, my brother recently sold off his entire collection of vintage Star Wars figures from the ‘80s. Loath to see them go to a stranger, however, I asked if I could take Jabba’s band off his hands since I’d coveted them ever since I was a kid. Inspired by these, I’m now planning to build them a little terrarium.

For our anniversary this year, John and I opted to try the vegan restaurant, Mono. Contrary to a friend’s assessment, it did not smell like farts and shame. This was also the night we saw Manila Luzon, which you can read about here.

I love when the moon comes out during the day like a wee creep.

He actually did this himself.

Just when you thought Wilfred couldn’t get more smooshed.

Tank Girl!

aka Luna TikTok.

Miss Kim Khaos and her trusty glammer.

Kim and I recently went on a thoroughly ridiculous shopping trip from which she emerged with forty lightbulbs and a packet of Haribo. (To be fair, I think telling the clerk, “You don’t want to know what I’m doing with them,” probably lent itself to a more terrifying scenario than the reality.)

John helping Mini hunt a fly.

That time Josh accidentally tracked a toxic caterpillar into our bathroom after it hitched a ride on his shirt. John and I did some super-sleuthing and discovered it’s a rusty tussock, notable for the toothbrush-like tufts that cover their backs.

The magnetic pull of cats and boxes is rivalled only by their ability to track down and rest upon clean laundry.

Master has given Dobby a sock!

Ellie is such a sweetheart. She just lay like this on my knees for an hour and a half while we all watched a movie.

The day we were accidentally gifted a free anthurium…

…and inadvertently identified the metal flowers in our living room. (They were supposed to send a white orchid intended as a wedding present, and it would evidently have cost them more to take the anthurium back than to just leave it with us.)

Another visit from Mr Cramb, during which we watched the entire series of From Dusk Till Dawn on Netflix. It’s a wonderful accompaniment to the film if you don’t watch the last ten minutes of the final episode.

Returning the favour: yet another trip to Dundee.

Mum and I may or may not have stayed up ‘til 2am doing a 1000-piece Disney jigsaw for ages 12+.

Colin and Kim’s leaving do at the DCA.

Cocktails are a serious business.

John and Sheena talking eyebrows.

Char was enthralled.

Tommy: Oh no you di’n’t, gurl!

Silent Hill descending over Dundee.

And, in the interests of maximising the festivities: Colin’s birthday celebrations the very next day.

I was ready to take extreme measures to shut up that music-playing flower, but thankfully Kim’s dad found a more pacifistic dismantling solution.

This was partially to make up for the fact that, due to the general business that accompanies leaving the country, Kim had given him an undecorated cake on the day itself…quite in contrast to the Ursula extravaganza she’d made for me.

ONE MILLION YEARS DUNGEON.

Continuing the theme of lepidopteran visitors: the moth who landed on our window disguised as a leaf.

Aaaand back to Dundee. I think I’ve spent more time there this year than I have in the entire post-Japan period of being back in the UK.

Kim’s brother’s bedroom. I felt right at home.

One is quite enough, thanks.

John mentally preparing himself for the evening ahead. To wit:

Never has the phrase “does exactly what it says on the tin” been more applicable.

I would like to point out that some of the most horrendous answers from this night came from neither myself or Colin but our allegedly better halves.

Look how proud he is of himself.

For shame, Mrs Cramb. For shame.

One final shot before John and I headed home. I would say that I’m going to miss this pair terribly, but it’s largely outweighed by two factors: first, my seething rage that they were placed in the tropical south of Japan when I was exiled to the barren wastelands of the north; and second, how very happy I am that they’re finally setting off on this adventure.

And third, let’s be honest: the fact that my next holiday is more or less sorted.

Comments
  1. Markus McD says:

    Gorgeous cats by the way!!!

    • Mark Liddell says:

      Thank you! We joke that they’re the most ridiculous menagerie of animals (a wildcat, a living teddy bear and an animated Jim Henson puppet) but they’re our babies, haha.

Leave a Reply

