Glasgow summer: my favourite day of the year.

Posted: July 16, 2012 in Photography
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Or: how John and I spent an uncharacteristically sunny Sunday.

Strawberries and cream – hallmark of a true British summer.

Because some stereotypes endure for a reason.

One weekend, John and I headed off to a vintage fair in the West End – because lord knows what our house needs is more shit. It started, inauspiciously enough, with me slipping on someone’s discarded ice cream as soon as I walked in the door, and things only went downhill from there. As it turned out, the “fair” bore more of a resemblance to Ariel, The Little Mermaid’s secret grotto: which is to say ten stalls of handmade tat and enough junk to satiate even the most avid of hoarders. Yet, while the event itself was a complete bust (sorry, love – if I wanted a scrabble piece on a necklace I’d save myself £10 and make the damn thing)…

…sunbathing in the Botanic Gardens was a perfectly acceptable substitute.

Our previous visit had been slightly tarnished by the sight of some malnourished junkies screaming at each other from across the park. This time we made sure to pick somewhere with a…ahem…better view.

Scooby! This dog was a) adorable and b) the size of a small horse.

Confession: I ‘shopped out a fat sunbather who was ruining this picture. I think I’m finally ready for that job at Vogue.

I’m currently making my way through A Song of Ice and Fire (the series Game of Thrones is based on) and I cannot adequately describe to you the wild, menopause-like range of emotions I felt while reading the third one.

John was on his third Kathy Reichs novel in as many days.

The carnivorous plants room inside the Kibble Palace greenhouse.

When I was younger, I had a Venus Flytrap, but – falsely triggering its trap mechanism one too many times – it lost its faith in humanity and stopped eating completely. A cautionary tale. 😦

Pitcher plants.

It was 24°C this day, and – as someone who once had to wear a blanket on a beach in Thailand – I was ecstatic. John, on the other hand, was dying.

Sundew: nature’s flypaper.

A euphorbia over in the succulent room, aka Bertha‘s distant cousin.

If you’re experiencing a creeping realisation that I’m a botany nerd, fear not – you’re perfectly justified.

Eve and her garden.

I very recently learned that there’s an entire, abandoned subway station beneath the Gardens that used to service the area.

John is a woodland creature.

Nature Boy

Helping me to finish the spool I’d had since Canada last year.

I defy you to find a more Scottish road sign.

And finally home later that evening – doing our part for water conservation.

Leave a Reply

