Bad luck, you awful swotters – it’s Famous Five Friday!

Posted: October 7, 2011 in Gaming
Tags: , , , , ,


Really, Enid – you’re making this too easy.

So, some slight changes this week. First: if the screenshots look a little different, it’s because I was forced to switch from the VICE emulator to CCS64. Confessedly, I did prefer the former (CCS64 has an awful habit of turning every button on the keyboard into a command at random – particularly problematic in a game that requires you to get by solely on typing) but every time I loaded a save file on VICE, it would freeze whenever I moved to a new area of the game. Consequently, I had to start from the beginning every time I played, and – since I was screwing up with alarming regularity – I couldn’t bear the thought of taking that god-forsaken train journey one more time.

As a result of actually being to save my progress, however, I can exclusively reveal that there is an end in sight (!), making this Famous Five Friday, Part 6 of an eventual 8. I’d actually made enough of those title screens above to take me into double digits, but – for your time and my sanity – that thankfully proved unnecessary.

And now: Five on a Treasure Island…on a treasure island!

[W, W, S, NE]












Next week: the Five run afoul of Uncle Quentin’s rampant kleptomania. Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

